IPL 2020 MI vs KXIP - What would have happened if the second 'Super Over' also ended in a tie?

The Dubai International Stadium witnessed quite some history, as for the first time a cricket match went into a second Super Over. KXIP and MI couldn’t be separated after 40 overs of cricket, and were tied after the Super Over as well, forcing the game into the first of its kind second Super Over.

A question that would have intrigued most cricket patrons is what would have happened if the second Super Over also ended in a tie?


Good question! :smile:

I guess the last one standing wins the match. :wink:


It would have ended with each team taking 1 point. :sweat_smile:


In case the second super over also gets tied, teams will be seen sharing points and there won’t be a third super over.

In the Play-Off matches, the team which, at the end of the relevant regular Season, finished in the higher position in the League table will be deemed the winner of the relevant play-off match.


Explainer for Sunday’s match (October 18) - MI vs KXIP

The game tied at 175 , but the Super Over too ended in a tie, which meant the game went into another Super Over!
Super Over 1:

Jasprit Bumrah kept KXIP to 5 for 2, dismissing both Nicholas Pooran and KL Rahul in the over.

Mohammed Shami bowled the Super Over for KXIP, and MI managed only 5 runs, with Quinton de Kock run out in the last ball.

Thus, the game went into another Super Over.

Now, here’s where the ‘TIED SUPER OVER’ rule comes into picture.

The most crucial part of the IPL match playing conditions for a Tied Super Over states:

"21. Any batsman dismissed in any previous Super Over shall be ineligible to bat in the following Super Over.

"22. Any bowler who bowled in the previous Super Over shall be ineligible to bowl in the subsequent Super Over.

"23. In all other ways the procedure for a subsequent Super Over shall be the same as for the initial Super Over."

This meant: Rahul, Pooran and Quinton de Kock (who were all dismissed) were not eligible to bat. Bumrah and Shami, who bowled the two Super Overs, were ineligible to bowl.

Kieron Pollard was listed to bat in the first Super Over, and was eligible to bat in the second one too as he was not dismissed.

Thus, MI batted, with Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard walking out. KXIP gave the ball to Chris Jordan.

Jordan kept MI to 11 for 1, with Hardik Pandya run out. Mayank Agarwal made an incredible save in the last ball to save 4 runs, which ended crucial.

KXIP batted with Chris Gayle and Agarwal, who got the job done in ease.


IPL Super Over: Know all the rules of the tie-breaker

An unlimited number of Super Overs – a six-ball decider to break deadlock after the scores of competing teams are tied in the IPL-- can be bowled until a winner is identified, as per the ‘Procedure of Super Over’ laid down in the IPL 2020 Playing Conditions.

"If the Super Over is a tie, subsequent Super Overs shall be played until a winner is determined. Other than in exceptional circumstances (As set out in paragraph 24 below), an unlimited number of Super Overs may be played where necessary to determine a result," says the rule pertaining to the tie-breaker Super Over.

Rule 24 states: “Where the Super Over or subsequent Super Overs are abandoned for any reason prior to the completion then the match shall be declared a tie and points allocated…”

There is also a provision for extraordinary circumstances in which the IPL match referee can limit the number of Super Overs.

This is stated in Rule 25: “In circumstances where there are unavoidable time constraints (for example, a requirement to switch off floodlights at a certain time) which do not allow the completion of multiple Super Over(s), the IPL Match Referee may limit the number of possible Super Overs and shall advise both captains accordingly prior to the start of the first Super Over.”

On Sunday, the KXIP-MI game couldn’t be decided after the first Super Over. Finally, the winners were identified in the second Super Over, when KXIP kept their nerve and emerged victorious at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

There are several other interesting, but intricate, rules with regard to the Super Over - So much so that when the first Super Over failed to break the tie, even the official commentators were not aware of the exact rules for the second/subsequent Super Overs.

Batsmen and bowlers who are involved in the first Super Over cannot take field for the second Super Over, as mentioned under 'Tied Super Over – Repeating The Super Over Procedure".

“Any batsman dismissed in any previous Super Over shall be ineligible to bat in the following Super Over,” states Rule 21. Further, Rule 22 states: “Any bowler who bowled in the previous Super Over shall be ineligible to bowl in the subsequent Super Over.”

And Rule 23 says: “In all other ways, the procedure for a subsequent Super Over shall be the same as for the initial Super Over.”

There are some other interesting Super Over rules, like the one regarding the use of pitch, that are not very well known.

The Super Over shall take place on the pitch allocated for the match, unless otherwise determined by the umpires in consultation with the ground authority and IPL match referee, says the rule. Another provision is that the team batting second in the match shall bat first in the Super Over.

Only nominated players in the match – including concussion replacements – can participate in the Super Over.

Each team would be allowed to have one unsuccessful player review – the Decision Review System – in each Super Over.

No new ball will be used specifically for the Super Over. “The captain of the fielding team (or his nominee) shall select the ball which the fielding team shall bowl its over in the Super Over from the box of spare balls provided by the umpires (which shall include the balls used in the match, but not new balls),” states the rule.

“The team fielding second may then choose to use the same ball as chosen by the team bowling first or choose another ball from the same box. If the ball needs to be changed, the relevant Playing Conditions as they apply in the match shall also apply in the Super Over.”


An interesting question, but such an outcome is very unlikely!

1 Like