India vs New Zealand WTC Final: Squads, Fixtures, Venue, Broadcasters & All you need to know

World Test Championship Final Squads

India Squad for WTC Final

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha

New Zealand Squad for WTC Final

Kane Williamson (C), Tom Blundell (WK), Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (WK), Will Young

Schedule and Venue for WTC Final

The World Test Championship (WTC) final between India and New Zealand will be held from 18th June to 22nd June 2021. The WTC final will be played at Southampton.

Playing Conditions for WTC Final

Ball to be used – Dukes

What if match ends in a draw? – India and New Zealand will be declared joint-winners

Is there a reserve day? – Yes, June 23. On the sixth day, a maximum of 83 overs can be bowled in addition to the last hour. Reserve day will only come into play if the lost overs are not made up on the same day. All the efforts will be made to cover the lost overs during five days of play.

What about follow-on? – If the entire first day’s play is abandoned due to rain. Even then the WTC Final will be a five-day affair with reserve day coming into play. The follow-on will be of 200 runs in this case. Even if one over of play takes on Day 1 and then the day is rained out, then also the follow-on will stay 200.

If the first two complete days of play is washed out due to rain, then the WTC Final will turn into a four-day match. In this case, the follow-on will be of 150 runs.

Short Runs – Third umpire will review all calls of short runs by on-field officials and communicate it to the umpires.

Shot Played or Not – Before reviewing an lbw decision, the fielding captain or the dismissed batsman can ask the umpire whether they thought if the shot was played or not.

Change in lbw reviews – For the lbw reviews, the height margin of the wicket zone has been changed to top of the stumps to increase the margin for umpire’s call around the stumps for height and width both.

Broadcast Details for WTC Final

Match Timings: 3:30 PM (IST)

TV: Star Sports Network

Live Streaming: Hotstar


:india: India announce 15-man squad

  • Virat Kohli to lead 15-man squad for WTC Final
  • No place for KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal and Shardul Thakur
  • India to take on New Zealand in the WTC Final in Southampton from June 18


Steve Smith has reclaimed the No.1 position in the Test batting rankings :arrow_up:

He replaces Kane Williamson to take top spot for the first time since the Boxing Day Tests last year.


Indian fast bowlers instrumental leading to the WTC 21 final :fire: :fire:


:new_zealand: New Zealand announces a 15 man squad for WTC Final against India.

Doug Bracewell, Jacob Duffy, Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra, and Mitchell Santner miss out on the squad.


The ICC World Test Championship Final’s ball will look like this. ICC symbol and written on the ball ‘ICC WTC Final 2021, India vs New Zealand’.


Sunil Gavaskar on WTC final :speaking_head:

“There are some who think New Zealand have the advantage…but India have more impact players and should win this game”



Winner of the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final between India and New Zealand will take home the prize money of USD 1.6 million along with the ICC Test Championship Mace.



Team-wise most hundreds by countries in WTC 2019-21:

India - 15
Australia - 15
Pakistan - 15
England - 13
Sri Lanka - 12
New Zealand - 9


Teams scoring 400+ most times in WTC 2019-21:

Australia - 7
England - 6
India - 5
New Zealand -5


ICC WTC final - Captain Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson test career comparison


ICC has announced an eight-member commentary team

The star-studded commentary panel for the high-octane clash between India and New Zealand at Southampton is:

  • Dinesh Karthik
  • Veteran Sunil Gavaskar
  • Kumar Sangakkara
  • Nasser Hussain
  • Simon Doull
  • Isa Guha
  • Ian Bishop
  • Michael Atherton

Veteran commentator Harsha Bhogle has, however, pulled himself out of contention.



India in Test matches.

1932-1999: 61 wins from 330 Tests (%win 18.48)
since 2000: 101 wins from 220 Tests (%win 45.91)
since 2005: 81 wins from 168 Tests (%win 48.21)
since 2010: 61 wins from 117 Tests (%win 52.14)
Since 2015: 40 wins from 64 Tests (%win 62.50)


WTC Final 2021, IND v NZ: Road to Glory ft. Harsha Bhogle

Harsha Bhogle in reliving the first ever World Test Championship as he flips through pages of a 2-year calendar to chronicle India and New Zealand’s journey to the Final.


All set! Team India :fire: :fire:


:trophy:Who will the Championship? :star_struck::thinking:


The only team India lost a series to on their way to the WTC Final - :new_zealand: New Zealand in Feb-Mar 2020 :eyes:


:rotating_light: UPDATE:

There will be no play in the first session on Day 1 of the ICC WTC final as it continues to drizzle in Southampton. :umbrella:




Most double hundreds by players of teams in WTC 2019-21:
India - 4
Australia - 3
England - 3
New Zealand - 2
Sri Lanka - 1
West Indies - 1


Who will win the first ICC event as a captain? :thinking: