ICC World Test Championship Points Table - How are the points awarded to the teams? Also, what is the Test Championship format?


After winning the test match against West Indies, India stands at top of the points table of the World Test Championship with 60 points. New Zealand and Sri Lanka are at 60 points after playing 2 test while Australia and England are at 32 points having played 3 matches.

How are the points calculated and awarded to the teams? Also, what is the Test Championship format?



I believe this format does injustice to teams playin longer series. It’s definitely hard to win 5-0 than 2-0.

It seems ICC wants shorter test series and wants to dissuade teams from playing longer series.


completely in support of @Yogesh here. Whenever India goes down under or England, they generally play a series of 4 games. Now even if they win 2 games there it would count for just 60 points. The same number of points which it got by defeating a west Indies team. I am unable to understand how winning one game against west indies would be equivalent to win two games against an England side. I would keep playing Bangladesh , Sri Lanka and West Indies in a 2 match series


Each team plays six series, with each series counting for 120 points, distributed over the number of matches in a series. For example, a two-match series will mean 60 points for each Test while a three-match series will give 40 points to each Test match. A tie will be 50% of the points available, whilst a draw will be a 3:1 points ratio.

Matches in series (2) - Win/Tie/Draw - 60/30/20
Matches in series (3) - Win/Tie/Draw - 40/20/13
Matches in series (4) - Win/Tie/Draw - 30/15/10
Matches in series (5) - Win/Tie/Draw - 24/12/8

If two teams are tied on points, the team that won more series shall be ranked higher. If teams are still equal, then the team with the higher runs per wicket ratio shall be ranked higher. The runs per wicket ratio is calculated as runs scored per wicket lost, divided by, runs conceded per wicket taken. As per the stipulated rules, all the teams will have three home series and three away series


Matches played by each team

Each of the participating 9 teams will play six series, but the number of matches will differ:

England: 22

Australia: 19

India: 18

South Africa: 16

West Indies: 15

New Zealand: 14

Bangladesh: 14

Pakistan: 13

Sri Lanka: 13

71 Tests across 27 series will be played in the championship and the top two teams (with the most points) will make it to Lord’s to play the finale in June 2021.

Also, after the final in June 2021, the second cycle will begin and will be played till April 2023.