2020-21 Domestic Cricket Season - BCCI set to hold Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Ranji Trophy

BCCI is set to hold the domestic cricket right after the IPL 2020 ends.

Ranji Trophy will start from December 13 and will be played till March 10 2021.


Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be played from November 19 to December 7

Due to the loss of time, the tournaments which might not happen this year would be Duleep Trophy, Deodhar and Vijay Hazare Trophy.


Ranji Trophy will witness some important changes

To adhere to the ‘new normal’, the Ranji trophy will have some important changes. The matches of each group will be played in 2 cities at two different grounds. The teams have been divided into 5 groups, A, B and C group will have 8 teams each. While group D will have six, seven or eight teams.

The professional rules have also changed as now in a new rule, the board has introduced a new round. The winner of Group D will face the first-placed team of Group E for a pre-quarterfinal, the winner of which will move into the quarterfinals.

The bottom-placed teams of groups A, B and C get relegated to Group D, while the top three teams from Group D get promoted to groups A, B and C. The bottom-placed team in Group D will be demoted to Group E, while the top-placed team from Group E will be promoted to Group D.


Good to see domestic cricket not neglected. :clap::clap:

BCCI plans to conduct all the junior tournaments:

  • CK Nayudu Under-23 Trophy (from December 15 to March 9, 2021)

  • Cooch Behar Trophy (from November 1 to January 22, 2021)

  • Vijay Merchant Trophy (November 1 to January 7, 2021)

Women’s cricket is also getting the much-needed importance and will see a full domestic calendar:

  • One-Day League (March 17 to April 12, 2021)

  • T20 League (November 1-20)

  • U-23 One-Day league (November 30-December 23)

  • U-23 T20 league (January 27 to February 15)

  • U-19 One-Day League (December 29- January 21)

  • U-19 T20 Trophy (Feb 21 to March 11)


No Shortened Season, India’s Domestic Season Likely To Be Completely Cancelled.

Traditional domestic events like the Ranji Trophy, Duleep Trophy, the U-23 CK Nayudu Trophy, Vijay Hazare, Deodhar Trophy and the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament are unlikely to be held this season due to rising coronavirus cases in India.

“The intent was always there but circumstances haven’t really changed. Ganguly’s letter was a little too early in the day,” quoted the source who spoke about the reviving domestic cricket.


Update: BCCI may have Mushtaq Ali T20 before Ranji Trophy

The BCCI in all likelihood, will organise the National T20 Championship for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in early January to kickstart the COVID-19-curtailed domestic season keeping the IPL-14 auctions in mind.

It has been learnt that the BCCI has already sent feelers to a few state associations where there are multiple grounds and five-star hotels to create a bio-bubble environment for a minimum of three teams.

“There are at least 10 state units that will be approached and asked if they can create bio-secure environment. The BCCI feels that if 6 out of 10 units give a positive response, then Mushtaq Ali can be completed in a two week window and Ranji Trophy can start,” he said.

Like Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) is one of the potential hosts for the National T20 Championships with three grounds available – Eden Gardens, JU (Salt Lake) and Kalyani.