IPL 2020: General News, Opinions and IPL Records

Most win as a Captain in IPL :

MS DHONI - 104*
Gambhir - 71
Rohit - 60
Kohli - 49
Gilchrist - 35
S Warne - 30


Jadeja is the only Indian Player to score 1000+ runs & to Pick 100+ wickets in IPL. :crossed_swords:


Most Maiden overs bowled in an IPL Season

Praveen Kumar - 5 (2011)
Ravi Rampaul - 4 (2013)
Sandeep Sharma - 4 (2015)
Dhawal Kulkarni - 4 (2016)



The 1st match was played today in the year 2008 on 18th April . KKR played against RCB in Bangalore. KKR won by 140 runs.
In what was a brutal one-man assault on RCB, Brendon McCullum blasted an unbeaten 158 from a mere 73 deliveries.
KKR 222/3
RCB 82 (15.1/20 ov)


Most 6s in an IPL Innings (For CSK)

Vijay - 11 v RR
Hussey - 9 v KXIP
McCullum - 9 v SRH
Smith - 8 v DD
Rayudu - 8 v RCB
Watson - 8 v SRH


Best Balls per Six ratio in IPL (Top 10)

Russell - 6.26
Gayle - 9.11
Maxwell - 9.53
Hardik - 10.15
Pollard - 10.66
Pant - 11.35
A Morkel - 12.47
Rana - 13.43
Abd - 13.71
Yusuf - 14.18

[Minimum 50 6s]


During a live session for the Delhi Capitals, Prithvi Shaw has named Gabbar as his favorite opening partner. He chooses Gabbar over Rohit, Pant and brigade!

His logic is brilliantly simple : “Shikhar Dhawan because I have opened with him most.” :grinning:


1st 50+ Score for each IPL Teams

KKR - McCullum
CSK - Hussey
KXIP - James Hopes
MI - Bravo
DC - Gambhir
RR - Watson
RCB - W Jaffer
SRH - Cameron White



RCB became the first team in IPL history to have won the second time by 10 wickets in a match.

In This Match (RCB v DC)

Virat Kohli - 35*
Chris Gayle - 62*


IPL Teams and what they haven’t won yet!

Orange Cap - RR, DC
Purple Cap - KKR, RCB
Valuable Player - CSK, DC, SRH
Emerging player - CSK
Faiplay Award - DC, RCB, KKR


Rahul Johri, CEO of BCCI says He is hopeful of IPL being conducted once Monsoon is Over. This means a start in/after late September. This will be in conflict of the ICC T20 WC. But, Johri looks confident about IPL’s chances.


Sourav Ganguly, BCCI President, has confirmed BCCI is working towards hosting IPL behind closed doors. He revealed the plans in his letter to state associations.


Delhi Capitals sign Anrich Nortje as Chris Woakes’ replacement

The South-African right-arm fast bowler will replace Chris Woakes and partner compatriot Kagiso Rabada for the Delhi Capitals.

Woakes had pulled out of this edition of the IPL citing the English summer season. He was acquired by the Capitals for Rs 1.5 Crore in the players’ auction.

Nortje made his debut in March 2019 and has represented the Proteas in 3 T20I’s and 7 ODI’s taking 2 and 14 wickets respectively. He has also won six Test caps, taking 19 wickets.

Nortje was with the Kolkata Knight Riders last season but an untimely shoulder injury truncated his IPL debut.


Delhi Capitals made a late change by replacing opener Jason Roy with all-rounder Daniel Sams.

Daniel Sams is an all-rounder from New South Wales, who made his first-class debut in 2017. Primarily a left-arm medium pace bowler, Sams is also a useful pinch-hitter lower down the order.

In 2017-18, he played for the Sydney Sixers in the Big Bash League and immediately made an impact picking four wickets in his debut game. However, it was in 2019-20 that Sams had his breakthrough BBL Season. Plying his trade with the Sydney Thunder, he picked up 30 wickets in 17 games, and ended as the highest wicket-taker in the competition. This was the fifth-highest number of wickets taken by any bowler in a T20 competition, putting him in the league of T20 legends like Dwayne Bravo.


Suresh Raina Out Of IPL 2020, returns to India

Raina has returned to India due to personal reasons and will miss the entire IPL 2020 season that begins in the UAE on September 19.

Raina is highest scorer for CSK in the IPL with 5,368 runs and second highest overall after Virat Kohli’s 5,412.

Meanwhile, at least 10 members of the CSK support staff have also tested positive, which has resulted in the entire CSK squad needing to undergo a fourth COVID-19 test.

Due to the development, the team’s quarantine period has now been extended till September 1.


Lasith Malinga Withdraws From IPL 2020

Malinga has opted out of IPL 2020 for personal reasons and Mumbai Indians have replaced the bowler with Australia’s James Pattinson.

Malinga is the highest wicket taker in IPL history with 170 wickets from 122 matches.

We will have to see if the Aussie pacer is as effective as Malinga.


IPL 2020: CSK Could Play MI in Tournament Opener After Players Test Negative


After Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh Pulls Out Of IPL, Says “Personal Reasons” To CSKharbhajan-singh-csk-1557670354-660x365


A post was merged into an existing topic: IPL 2020: RCB vs DC- Preview, Head To Head, Prediction & Post Match Review

MI, DC, SRH & RCB enter play-offs.

Except MI, all three played inconsistent cricket. Playing hot and cold. 5 teams had a close race for 3 spots. Even RR had a decent chance till late.

Punjab must be crying in corner ruing the 2-3 games where they managed to snatch defeat from jaws of victory. If they hadn’t choked, today they could’ve been in 2nd place. Alas, that’s how cruel the game is!

To the play-offs then! :crossed_fingers: